Go to Walter's Facebook Check Out the RSS Feed for WalterMosley.com
Walter Mosley: Farewell, Amethystine Walter Mosley: Every Man A King Walter Mosley on Facebook


Easy Rawlins Mysteries

Devil in a Blue Dress (1990)

A Red Death (1991)

White Butterfly (1992)

Black Betty (1994)

A Little Yellow Dog (1996)

Gone Fishin’ (1997)

Bad Boy Brawly Brown (2002)

Six Easy Pieces (2003)

Little Scarlet (2004)

Cinnamon Kiss (2005)

Blonde Faith (2007)

Little Green (2013)

Rose Gold (2014)

Charcoal Joe (2016)

Blood Grove (2021)

Farewell, Amethystine (2024)


Fearless Jones Mysteries

Fearless Jones (2001)

Fear Itself (2003)

Fear of the Dark (2006)


King Oliver Mysteries

Every Man A King (2023)

Down the River unto the Sea (2018)


Leonid McGill Mysteries

The Long Fall (2009)

Known to Evil (2010)

When the Thrill Is Gone (2011)

All I Did Was Shoot My Man (2012)

And Sometimes I Wonder About You (2015)

Trouble Is What I Do (2020)


Science Fiction

Blue Light (1998)

Futureland: Nine Stories of an Imminent World (2001)

The Wave (2005)

Odyssey (2013)

Inside a Silver Box (2015)

Touched (2023)


Socrates Fortlow Novels

Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (1997)

Walkin’ the Dog (1999)

The Right Mistake (2008)


Young Adult

47 (2005)


Other Fiction

RL’s Dream (1995)

The Man in My Basement (2004)

Walking the Line (2005), a novella in the Transgressions series

Fortunate Son (2006)

The Tempest Tales (2008)

The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey (2010)

Parishioner (2012)

Debbie Doesn’t Do It Anymore (2014)

The Further Tales of Tempest Landry (2015)

John Woman (2018)

The Awkward Black Man (2020)



Killing Johnny Fry: A Sexistential Novel (2006)

Diablerie (2007)


Non-fiction books

Workin’ on the Chain Gang: Shaking off the Dead Hand of History (2000)

What Next: An African American Initiative Toward World Peace (2003)

Life Out of Context: Which Includes a Proposal for the Non-violent Takeover of the House of Representatives


This Year You Write Your Novel (2007)

Twelve Steps Toward Political Revelation (2011) ISBN 978-1-56858-642-7

Elements of Fiction (2019)


Graphic novel / Comic Book Series

Maximum Fantastic Four (2005, with Stan Lee and Jack Kirby)

The Thing (2021-2022) – Books 1 through 6


Crosstown to Oblivion series

The Gift of Fire / On the Head of a Pin, Tor Books, 2012

Merge / Disciple, Tor Books, 2012

Stepping Stone / The Love Machine, Tor Books, 2013



The Fall of Heaven, Samuel French, 2011

Lift, World Premiere at Crossroads Theatre Company on April 10, 2014.


To Order Books

Indie Bound:


Barnes & Noble: